I’m a professional Makeup Artist in my dreams!

If your anything like me, your talent in the makeup field is zero to none. You try and try to master how to do the perfect winged eyeliner or the infamous smoky eye; but it always seems to come out looking like you 3 year old brother did it. I can’t tell you the amount of times I’ve slaved over my computer, looking at hundreds of videos from various YouTube beauty guru’s. Just to be disappointed in the end. For the longest time I just thought, I’ll just never wear makeup unless someone decides to do it for me. Until one day I went to walgreens and picked up some eyeliner and mascara. These two items out of all the different types of makeup that you can buy are probably the easiest to deal with. Which made me think EXACTLY! When trying to learn how to apply makeup we often see a completely face; and we want to reciprocate that because we feel it would look good on us. But the problem is , for most girls who can’t do makeup picking up brushes and making a complete masterpiece is quite impossible.
This is what made me realize ,learning how to use one product at a time is the way to go. If you try one product one at a time it will give you practice on each tool. So as you go on and try different ones, you’ll be a master at using each tool; instead of knowing how to have a “prom makeup face”. You’ll know each tool that was used to make the face so you can adapt it to your own.
Now with this, in my opinion I always feel like less makeup is more, especially as a college student. Nobody really has time to do a full face of makeup, before an 8am class. With learning how to use different types of makeup I’ve made my own Minimal makeup routine for the not so talented. As well as the college student who wants to look somewhat put together.
DAILY( well almost daily) MAKEUP ROUTINE:
• Start of with a clean face you don’t want to put makeup on to dirty skin
( if you want to know what I do to wash my face checkout my last blog post)

https://kendrajaz.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/sometimes-its-hard-to-love-the-skin-your-in/

Also here’s an article on washing your face

http://health.howstuffworks.com/skin-care/cleansing/basics/how-to-wash-face.htm

•Apply a foundation
Now a foundation isn’t necessary but I feel it makes my skin more even tone, since I have a few acne scars. I use Maybeline dream mouse foundation. I like the moose foundation is better than a liquid or powder because in my opinion it’s has a smoother finish.

• Next I apply Maybeline black eyeliner to my waterline to make my eyes stand out. Now this isn’t a heavy dosage of it but it’s just enough so you can see it.

• Then I use Loreal telescopic liquid eyeliner for the top of my lid. With this I start at the corner and go all the way to about halfway across my eye. You can obviously go all the way or do whatever you like. But like I said when you try different types of makeup you’ll figure out what looks good on you.

• Then I apply GREAT LASH mascara ( the pink and green tube) to my lashes. I like this brand because I feel it makes my eyelashes look thicker and longer, compared to many other brands. It also helps that it’s pretty much the cheapest.

•Lastly I use AQUAPHOR lip therapy to put on my lips to keep them hydrated.

I’ve used this current routine for about a year and a half now and it works very well for me. Remember ,in order to figure out what is good for you; you must try different things, and it also helps tremendously if you do them one at a time.
Then as you get bored with it you’ll try new things to switch up your look.

See we all don’t have to be makeup artist to do makeup!

– Kendra Jaz-

20131011-170406.jpg

Leave a Reply

